1. Home
  2. >>
  3. new
  4. >>
  5. Facebook Messenger: this is how the new virus works “I think you appear in this video? Are you?” that circulates in social networks...

Facebook Messenger: this is how the new virus works “I think you appear in this video? Are you?” that circulates in social networks | Present



Facebook Messenger: this is how the new virus works “I think you appear in this video? Are you?” that circulates in social networks | Present


Cybercriminals have various techniques to steal information from users. The existence of a dangerous malware that circulates through Facebook Messenger has recently been revealed and has managed to have many victims because it generates some curiosity, since they ask the following question: “I think you appear in this video, are you?”

According to Maldita.es, the cybercriminals behind this new malware use the phishing technique to trick their victims into giving them access to their Facebook account. Once it has obtained the user’s credentials, it will use their profile so that the person’s contacts will also fall victim to the malware.

YOU CAN SEE: Why is it not advisable to let your cell phone battery reach 0%

  Legend of Mana Remaster we already have a new Gameplay

How does this virus

According to the post, potential victims will receive a Facebook Messenger message from a person in their contact list (who previously fell for it). In the text you can read the following sentence: “I think you appear in this video, are you”, which is accompanied by a link that supposedly takes us to see our video.

Many people are curious to know what video you have uploaded and go to the link. A page that simulates Messenger will appear asking them to enter their email and password. Facebook to see the clip correctly. If the user makes the mistake of entering their credentials, they will end up in the hands of hackers.

  FlexClip Video Maker: the useful online tool for editing videos

When cybercriminals gain access to your Facebook account, they will start sending the same message to the people you have added in your contacts in order to make more users fall victim to them. The matter does not end there, since the link can also encourage you to download a supposed TikTok video that is actually malware.

If you got curious and entered this link, it is recommended to change your Facebook password and verify the devices from which they have connected to your account. In case you find an unknown one, you should block it. In addition, you will have to pass an antivirus and uninstall any unknown application that has been installed on your cell phone.

  Peugeot and Samsung present the car that can be driven with a Smartphone at the Mobile World Congress

YOU CAN SEE: WhatsApp Business will start charging certain users: what will this paid version be like?

More Facebook Notes

How to activate the dark mode of Facebook

Sign in to Facebook and go to the Settings section. This is found in the three bars at the top of the app if you have Android. In the case of iPhone They are at the bottom of your screen.

Once there, several boxes will appear and if you go down you will see the option: “Your time on Facebook”, where you can see the “dark mode” or “dark mode”. Select “Dark mode” and another window will appear where it will say if you want to use the light or dark mode of Facebook.

  EA will bring new Titanfall experiences to gamers around the world

YOU CAN SEE: WhatsApp: how to leave your profile name blank to surprise your contacts

How to know if an intruder has accessed our Facebook account

First of all, we need to log in with our account on the Web version of Facebook, then we access the ‘Settings’, in the drop-down menu at the top right and then click on ‘Security and login’. Within this option at the top, we will see a section called ‘Where are you logged in’. This is what we seek.

In this section we will be able to know where and from what device we have recently connected on Facebook. It is a way to control if someone has been able to connect to our account. For example, we can see that you have logged in from a device that we do not know or even from another place. It also indicates the login date.